Montana Governor Brian Schweitzer's office has announced appointments to the Upper Clark Fork

River Basin  Remediation and Restoration Education Advisory Council, part of the Natural Resource Damage Program (NRDP).

The Council is charged with  advising the governor on remediation and restoration efforts in the basin. In particular, the council reviews and makes recommendations on the NRDP grant proposals and policies relating to expenditure of restoration funds.

The council has been reduced in size from 12 to eight members. New council members include:

  • William Rossbach, Missoula (named as Chair). Rossbach, an attorney, has served on the Missoula City County Consolidated Board of Health and the Water and Air Pollution Control Boards, as well as the Board of Environmental Review.
  • Roy O'Connor, Missoula. O'Connor is a rancher and investor, and has been an officer of both the Montana Land Reliance and the Blackfoot Chapter of Trout Unlimited.
  • Elton Ringsak, Butte. Ringsak was appointed regional administrator for the U.S. Small Business Administration by former President George Bush. He is a small business owner and a decorated Vietnam War veteran.
  • Jim Kambich, Butte. Kambich is president and CEO of MERDI. He's a graduate of both Carroll College and the University of Montana and served in leadership for the Montana Aerospace Development Association.
  • Katherine Eccleston, Anaconda. Eccleston is a visiting assistant professor at Montana Tech of the University of Montana. She's active in the Greenway Service District Board and the Montana Chapter of the Society of Technical Communication.
  • Michael McLean, Anaconda. McLean, an attorney, earned his JD from the University of Montana. His undergraduate degree is from Montana Tech and is in public administration.
  • Jon Krutar, Ovando. Krutar is a board member for the Blackfoot River Group. Krutar is a rancher and veteran. He's also taught courses at Carroll College.
  • Maureen Connor, Phillipsburg. Connor is a Granite County commissioner. A graduate of Montana State University, Connor is also a teacher. She's the chair of the Philipsburg Volunteer Ambulance Association.
  • Non-voting members appointed are Richard Opper, director, Department of Environmental Quality; Mary Sexton, director, Department of Natural Resources and Conservation and Joe Maurier, director, Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks.

Go to top